That Mr. Musician, I just wanna kick him in the balls

joem5815

CAGiversary!
What's with all the hate on the rock music games? Every time I read an opinion about them on gaming sites, it's music-game-lover non-musicians against music-game-hater musicians. I love the games, and I've been a musician for over a decade. I understand the difference between the games and conventional music-making. Why don't other musicians?

My theory is Mr. Musician usually is a guy that spent years of his life mastering their instrument, only to see Mr. Non-Musician get a sense of satisfaction musically after only hours of toying with a plastic controller, then suggest that Mr. Non-Musician get a life and try a "real" instrument under the guise of opening Mr. Non-Musician's eyes to a more fulfilling hobby while actually hoping Mr. Non-Musician fails at the "real thing" and cries himself to sleep. It's like when Mr. Read-The-Book calls Mr. Watched-The-Movie an illiterate buffoon just because the movie was just as good, or when Mr. College-Graduate pokes fun at Mr. Technical-School for not having a Master's degree, even though Mr.Technical-School started a business and makes more money than him. Makes me ill.

Fine, Mr. Musician. We'll all stop rockin' out to Rock Band and Guitar Hero and pick up a REAL guitar. And while we're at it, we'll go raid some tombs, climb the criminal organizational ladder, and await the zombie apocalypse with pistol and shotgun at the ready.

They're only saying that because an adult fiddling around with a plastic guitar, with all their adult friends and their plastic instruments, is really fucking lame.

Why the hell is this in the Controversy forum?

[quote name='joem5815']

Fine, Mr. Musician. We'll all stop rockin' out to Rock Band and Guitar Hero and pick up a REAL guitar. And while we're at it, we'll go raid some tombs, climb the criminal organizational ladder, and await the zombie apocalypse with pistol and shotgun at the ready.[/quote]