The Quest for a Career, I Need Help

Aberforth

CAGiversary!
So for the past year I've been trying to start my career as a software/hardware engineer. I have my degree in computer engineering already, it's just a matter of finding a job. I've had no internships nor prior professional experience. It's been pretty trying on my patience. I've asked my parents, brothers, cousins, aunts, uncles, and friends for assistance, but I haven't really gotten anywhere. Now I'm wondering if you guys have any input to hopefully help me out a little bit.

I can't help you but I'm bumping this since its already starting to fall down the page. I think we have a few S/H engineers here. Wait till tomorrow afternoon for answers as a lot of people surf here while at work.

[quote name='Aberforth']So for the past year I've been trying to start my career as a software/hardware engineer. I have my degree in computer engineering already, it's just a matter of finding a job. I've had no internships nor prior professional experience. It's been pretty trying on my patience. I've asked my parents, brothers, cousins, aunts, uncles, and friends for assistance, but I haven't really gotten anywhere. Now I'm wondering if you guys have any input to hopefully help me out a little bit.[/quote]

Your biggest problem is going to be the lack of experience. Why would "we" want to hire someone with a degree and no experience as opposed to someone who does?

I think that most engineering programs these days recommend, if not require, an internship or co-op to graduate. Its too bad that you didn't have that, it would really help. How were your grades? They don't mean shit after you get your first job, but they will hurt/help you for the first one.

Seriously though, keep looking on the internet, talking with recruiters, etc.