What happens to your Edge Card once it expires?

NovaKane

CAGiversary!
Feedback
3 (100%)
My card expires in April and I probably won't renew it. I have $143 left on it. I asked an employee what happens to it once it expires and he says the balance is automatically wiped out. Then he says I should just renew the card...sounded like bullshit to me.

So my good ppl at CAG, what really happens once the Edge Card expires?

It goes to Edge heaven.

No, seriously though, that sounded like utter BS. Your discount will expire but the balance should remain. They use the same cards when you buy a gift card, so it shouldn't be any different.

I'm no expert, so perhaps someone else can chime in.

You still use the credit like normal. What makes it an Edge card is the little sticker on the back that they scan. That gives the Edge discounts and bonuses. Otherwise, the card is the same as if you did a trade in for store credit, but didn't have the Edge card. Your balance will be fine.

Edit - Mine expired in December and it had probably around $300 on it. Of course, it was all fine, and I had no problems using all of it later.

It sounds like the employee needed a sub. Your balanced is saved but you dont get the discount anymore.

Damn, you guys are life savers! Now I don't have to rush and spend the rest of my balance by the end of April.

I figured that employee was full of shit though. I no longer need the discounts, I'm good as long as I can spend my store credit whenever I want.

Thanks a lot!

Next time you see that employee, give him a glass of prune juice cause he's full of shit! Like others have said, your balance remains you just lose the 10% bonuses.

He was just trying to get you to renew your Edge card with him. Pretty shitty thing to do in my opinion.

• Maybe the employee was new.
  • Maybe the employee was messing around with you and you took it serious.
  • Should have asked to talk to the manager.
  • And never rely on CAG to get your info from.