Which edition of Batman: Year One is the best?

KHASN

CAGiversary!
Feedback
3 (100%)
I'm pretty new to the graphic novel/comic book scene. I've been trying to read more, and amazon happened to recommend this to me.
Unfortunately there's like 6 editions of this book, and I have no idea what the differences are and which edition to buy. BTW What the heck is library binding, and why would I need it?

Feel free to recommend your favorite graphic novels. I've had people tell me that I should pick up Hush, The Killing Joke, and Year Three.

UPDATE: Picked up a bunch of Batman books today from the library. The good news is they had Hush and Killing Joke. The bad news is that the only copy of V for Vendetta they had was filthy... there was even a hair sticking out of it.
For some strange reason, according to the library's online database all the Batman graphic novels were written by Bob Kane.
BTW, did you guys know someone wrote a graphic novel about Laika the Sputnik dog?
Thanks to everyone that posted in this thread. I'll be sure to make a new thread when I decide to branch out and try other graphic novels.

Last edited by a moderator:
Library binding is a higher quality binding, used in situation where the book is being read alot. If you want a copy that lasts, that is the best you can do usually. Paperback is at the other end of the graphic novel spectrum and is usually lower quality and holds little to no value as a collector's piece. The Long Halloween is also one worth checking out if you're a batman fan.

I second The Long Halloween. Also Hush is really good as well.

Not sure which version of Year One to recommend though. If you take care of your stuff and don't care about collecting just get paperback. That's what I do.

YEAR ONE is a great recommendation, maybe the best Batman story. Many will disagree -- I like DARK KNIGHT RETURNS too -- but I think David Mazzucchelli's art is one of the most underrated works of great mainstream comics art.