Wii Disc Drive Issues

clockworkgreen

CAGiversary!
Feedback
3 (100%)
Definitely the disc drive, not the fan or the gizmo or the widget. I get a loud buzzing noise when a disc is spinning, though not every time, all the time either, which is weird. From PC tech support-ish experience, it's something in the spin mechanism that's off kilter. I've heard this noise before.

Sometimes I'll be playing for 20-30-60 minutes and then it'll start (that's what happened with Power Pros last night). And, for whatever reason, seems to happen more since I started playing Power Pros. Though it has happened with other games with less frequency (say once a week as opposed to once an hour now).

It's almost like the disc spinning makes something is grind, though there are no disc marks, no unplayable discs, etc. Just a loud buzzing.

I've put in a return to Nintendo, have a UPS label on the way. Anyone gone this route for any other service before so I know what to expect?

[quote name='clockworkgreen'] Anyone gone this route for any other service before so I know what to expect?[/quote]

I'm on my 3rd Wii, and oddly enough.... last night got the buzz yet again. I have no idea what the hell is going on but it's not as loud as my previous buzz issues. It's more like a slight whirring that happens on and off. But I was told that it's a RARE thing where the part that holds the disc goes a bit off center.

Strange that it's rare, yet happened to every one of the Wii's that I had to return. This time i'm going to try and ignore it for as long as I can. Mine is well vented, not in the way of anything, never moved, and not played for hours on end either. They all did the same thing. BUT I have a feeling that it begins to happen after gamecube and wii games exchange a few times. That's the only thing I can think of.