Jump to content


- - - - -

God of War III now 720p, variable frame rate.


#1 limelight022  

limelight022

Posted 19 January 2010 - 03:09 AM

So much for, "The power of the PS3"...:cry:

Link

This is the end of another game that was supposed to support 1080p natively... trading it for 720p native with an ability to upscale to 1080p.
That feat was talked about. And it was talked about a LOT. In the end, It's either the PS3 not having the juice for it, or SCE Santa Monica not having the juice...maker that is to blame.
Whichever it is, it doesn't matter, really. It's just a sad end to what could've been a definitive visual showcase... now it'll just have to settle with "impressive".


The news were delivered by Jeff Rubenstein, SCEA Social Media Manager, via the comments section of the PlayStation Blog. Another thing to note is that according to according to Stig Asmussen, game director, the game will also have a variable frame rate - ranging from 30 at the least to 60 at the most depending on the action happening on-screen.
Well, at least it surely won't stall while I'm ripping off yet another head, eh?



#2 TC   Better w/o Kinect CAGiversary!   3057 Posts   Joined 14.7 Years Ago  

Posted 19 January 2010 - 03:20 AM

As long as it's fun I'll be happy. The demo was awesome.

#3 Fatal Futanari   What cha got there Senpai? CAGiversary!   7647 Posts   Joined 11.6 Years Ago  

Fatal Futanari

Posted 19 January 2010 - 03:24 AM

People enjoyed Uncharted 2 and it wasnt 1080p native. It will be fine. Opting for better performance is never a bad thing.

#4 lokizz   Go $$$$ Yourself CAGiversary!   10104 Posts   Joined 12.6 Years Ago  

Posted 19 January 2010 - 03:27 AM

why does it matter?

#5 Salamando3000   For Good or for Awesome CAGiversary!   1757 Posts   Joined 14.1 Years Ago  

Salamando3000

Posted 19 January 2010 - 03:27 AM

If what's on my screen is even close to what I'm seeing in these screenshots, I will find it very hard to complain about graphics...

#6 deadpool 3.0   Casual Gamer CAGiversary!   7086 Posts   Joined 12.0 Years Ago  

deadpool 3.0

Posted 19 January 2010 - 03:29 AM

I didn't expect it to be 1080p to be honest. 720p is what most games are anyway. Some are more than 720p, and yes some is less. Although it being at 720p is fine. I couldn't name 10 games that is truly 1080p anyway. I remember reading on a thread, and I thought it was really funny. A guy posted, and said most PS3 games was just 720p, and all 360 games was 1080p. What he doesn't know is that means it upscales it. It don't mean its truly 1080p, and he thought it did...

#7 blitz6speed   Broken 360 D-Pad... CAGiversary!   2359 Posts   Joined 12.5 Years Ago  

blitz6speed

Posted 19 January 2010 - 03:37 AM

Its going to run in some resolution that ends up in 1080p to upscale to 1920x1080p. Dont care as long as it does. And dont be sad about it OP, its still going to look better then anything on the 360 and nothing on the 360 for the life of the console will look anywhere near as good. So dry those tears buddy.

#8 limelight022  

limelight022

Posted 19 January 2010 - 04:10 AM

It isnt so much the resolution, but the frame rate differences. GoW and part 2 were already excellent games on ps2, but playing it at 60fps made it THE version to play on ps3. To me, it made a remarkable game that much better with that lil' improvement.

Regardless, the demo was fantastic, and im sure the full version will follow the same pattern.

#9 FroMann   Follow FroMann! CAGiversary!   1271 Posts   Joined 9.9 Years Ago  

Posted 19 January 2010 - 04:14 AM

I did not plan on buying a 1080p television anytime soon. Heck I still don't own a HDTV. I rather go with 720p anyway since its cheaper and most HD media is 720p.

#10 DarkNessBear   CABear CAGiversary!   6478 Posts   Joined 13.2 Years Ago  

DarkNessBear

Posted 19 January 2010 - 04:14 AM

Yea, I think they upped the Graphics and put down the resolution. That is ok to me!!

#11 jh6269   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1630 Posts   Joined 9.4 Years Ago  

Posted 19 January 2010 - 04:16 AM

Maybe I'm wrong, but Uncharted 2 is not 60fps, and it was great. The Destructiod article confirmed that the new demo was even better than the E3 demo.

Next gen should be 1080p 60fps (hopefully), but this gen has been great so far.

#12 KingBroly   CAG Club Nintendo CAGiversary!   15248 Posts   Joined 11.6 Years Ago  

KingBroly

Posted 19 January 2010 - 04:47 AM

Somebody likes causing trouble.

It still supports 1080, whatever that means.

#13 msdmoney   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   2848 Posts   Joined 14.9 Years Ago  

Posted 19 January 2010 - 09:40 AM

Who cares, most hd games on consoles are 720p.

#14 blitz6speed   Broken 360 D-Pad... CAGiversary!   2359 Posts   Joined 12.5 Years Ago  

blitz6speed

Posted 19 January 2010 - 12:19 PM

Who cares, most hd games on consoles are 720p.


There are quite a few major titles that arent even HD, like Halo, Call of Duty, Ninja Gaiden 2 (xbox 360 version is non-HD, Sigma 2 PS3 is true 720p), etc. This gen was never about 1080p for gaming, although the PS3 has ~5-6 times the amount of 1080p games as the 360.

#15 Chuplayer   Anticitizen One CAGiversary!   2472 Posts   Joined 13.6 Years Ago  

Chuplayer

Posted 20 January 2010 - 02:08 AM

There are quite a few major titles that arent even HD, like... Ninja Gaiden 2 (xbox 360 version is non-HD, Sigma 2 PS3 is true 720p)


Say what?

Anyway, I love my gaming PC for true 1080p :drool:

#16 IAmTheCheapestGamer   Banned Banned   28796 Posts   Joined 13.3 Years Ago  

IAmTheCheapestGamer

Posted 20 January 2010 - 06:45 AM

I can't wait to play God Of War III(once it drops to $30 used)in full.......480i.

:lol::lol::lol:

I don't give a shit what resolution it's in, as long as it runs great and isn't a buggy piece of crap. Hopefully the extra time it's been delayed(March/April now)has been used to assure that there's no screen tearing or other issues that the PS2 games suffered from.

#17 Serpentor   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   5163 Posts   Joined 12.3 Years Ago  

Posted 21 January 2010 - 04:30 PM

The demo looks good enough for me and i'm happy with my Amazon pre-order. Ultimate Edition, got to have that Pandora's Box :)

#18 Kevfactor   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   596 Posts   Joined 8.8 Years Ago  

Kevfactor

Posted 21 January 2010 - 06:52 PM

i really wish this game and uncharted 2 could come out for the pc so could see how good it could really get :)

#19 eddie291   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   523 Posts   Joined 10.1 Years Ago  

eddie291

Posted 21 January 2010 - 10:17 PM

There are quite a few major titles that arent even HD, like Halo, Call of Duty, Ninja Gaiden 2 (xbox 360 version is non-HD, Sigma 2 PS3 is true 720p), etc. This gen was never about 1080p for gaming, although the PS3 has ~5-6 times the amount of 1080p games as the 360.

Is there a source for this? I've always been curious as to which games are in 720p, 1080p, or under 720p. Like another poster said, I heard Halo 3 and MW2 are in 620p or something like that.

I found this: http://www.makeyougo...s3-1080p-games/
http://www.makeyougo...60-1080p-games/

but it's outdated by at least a year(PS3 list is outdated by 2 years).

#20 Matt Young   Follow the buzzards CAGiversary!   15183 Posts   Joined 14.3 Years Ago  

Matt Young

Posted 21 January 2010 - 11:04 PM

Who cares, most hd games on consoles are 720p.


That's not true at all. Almost every PS3 game is 720p, yes. But most 360 games run in 1080i.

#21 deadpool 3.0   Casual Gamer CAGiversary!   7086 Posts   Joined 12.0 Years Ago  

deadpool 3.0

Posted 21 January 2010 - 11:08 PM

That's not true at all. Almost every PS3 game is 720p, yes. But most 360 games run in 1080i.


Theres a difference between a game being 1080p and it just running in it. If you look at all 360 games it says 720p,1080i,1080p when some games isn't even 720p... All that means is you can run it in that resolution. It doesn't mean it is actually 1080p for example. It just stretches the image.

#22 barchi01   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   709 Posts   Joined 9.0 Years Ago  

Posted 21 January 2010 - 11:39 PM

It astounds me that some people are okay seeing this game in 480 i or 720P. That is like eating filet minge on when you are sick an you can't taste anything. Sure you are getting to eat filet minge on but to truly appreciate it you should have all of you're taste buds firing on all cylinders. The same analogy is true for High Def video games. PS3 was touted as having the graphical advantage over XBOX 360 and yet most of their system exlcusives (I.E. God Of War III) don't maximize the systems potential. Developers should take extra time especially with an exlusive flagship franchise such as this to make sure it something other system owners would salivate at when they play it. I own a Playstation 3 and an XBOX 360 and I would say PS3 has inferior graphics on every game which is on both systems (I.E. Bayonetta, The Orange Box, Fallout 3 etc). God of War 1 and 2's graphics were the absolute best on PS2 and now it seems like Santa Monica studios doesn't care to continue to push the same envelope that got them here. We are in the 3rd or 4th year of the next gen console cycle and it is ridiculous that developers can not produce a game like this in 1080P. We sit and sink all of this money into 1080P 240 HZ tv's and HD cables to have a top tier title that doesn't maximize that capability is garbage. I'm not saying sacrifice gameplay for graphics but in year 4 of a console you should be able to do both, Kratos deserves better. And to all of you that say 720P is the norm that is false most great titles like Call Of Duty Modern Warfare 2 and Gears Of War 2 are 1080p.

Edited by barchi01, 22 January 2010 - 12:02 AM.


#23 Dr Mario Kart   SD/2D Defense Force CAGiversary!   10953 Posts   Joined 14.8 Years Ago  

Dr Mario Kart

Posted 22 January 2010 - 12:01 AM

uh....doesnt Modern Warfare 2 run at 600p? A lot of games go sub-HD ever since they granted the privilege to everyone rather than just Halo 3.

#24 Strell   LOBSTERS!....IN MY PANTS! CAGiversary!   26583 Posts   Joined 15.0 Years Ago  

Posted 22 January 2010 - 12:15 AM

"Filet minge."

#25 IAmTheCheapestGamer   Banned Banned   28796 Posts   Joined 13.3 Years Ago  

IAmTheCheapestGamer

Posted 22 January 2010 - 12:48 AM

It astounds me that some people are okay seeing this game in 480 i or 720P. That is like eating filet minge on when you are sick an you can't taste anything. Sure you are getting to eat filet minge on but to truly appreciate it you should have all of you're taste buds firing on all cylinders. The same analogy is true for High Def video games. PS3 was touted as having the graphical advantage over XBOX 360 and yet most of their system exlcusives (I.E. God Of War III) don't maximize the systems potential. Developers should take extra time especially with an exlusive flagship franchise such as this to make sure it something other system owners would salivate at when they play it. I own a Playstation 3 and an XBOX 360 and I would say PS3 has inferior graphics on every game which is on both systems (I.E. Bayonetta, The Orange Box, Fallout 3 etc). God of War 1 and 2's graphics were the absolute best on PS2 and now it seems like Santa Monica studios doesn't care to continue to push the same envelope that got them here. We are in the 3rd or 4th year of the next gen console cycle and it is ridiculous that developers can not produce a game like this in 1080P. We sit and sink all of this money into 1080P 240 HZ tv's and HD cables to have a top tier title that doesn't maximize that capability is garbage. I'm not saying sacrifice gameplay for graphics but in year 4 of a console you should be able to do both, Kratos deserves better. And to all of you that say 720P is the norm that is false most great titles like Call Of Duty Modern Warfare 2 and Gears Of War 2 are 1080p.


I can't belie.....<crushed by wall o text>

:lol::lol:

Seriously though, not all of us have 'sunk all of this money into HDtv's and HD cables', which is why all three console manufacturers understood that this gen and only provided composite cables for people to use with their systems.

If you have an HDtv, that's great for you, but many of us are too broke(cheap in my case) to plunk down all that extra cash for a prettier picture when we're not going to be using the tv for much other than gaming and maybe a couple hours of tv a night.

So please, stop trying to think you speak for every game console owner in saying that 'zomg HD is absolutely needed'. It's not. Competent developers who make games that don't crash and not copying the shit out of existing franchises and making the same 3-4 game experiences over and over are the only things that're needed.

Oh and btw...it's spelled filet mignon. :razz:

#26 Kevfactor   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   596 Posts   Joined 8.8 Years Ago  

Kevfactor

Posted 22 January 2010 - 06:28 AM

as long as its 720p i dont really notice a difference. however lower than that yes i do. id be more concerned about the resolution really. id like to see a ps3 game past 1200x700 and go for the 1900x1000 for a change.

also if you dont have a hdtv and you game or watch tv at home..shame on you! just missing out so much compared to the old tvs. some shows even look bad on the old format because those shows are native in hd. clone was for example looks awful on my folks crt but in hd it's still a crappy story but like starwars is meant to be,jaw dropping graphics :)

#27 IAmTheCheapestGamer   Banned Banned   28796 Posts   Joined 13.3 Years Ago  

IAmTheCheapestGamer

Posted 22 January 2010 - 06:36 AM

as long as its 720p i dont really notice a difference. however lower than that yes i do. id be more concerned about the resolution really. id like to see a ps3 game past 1200x700 and go for the 1900x1000 for a change.

also if you dont have a hdtv and you game or watch tv at home..shame on you! just missing out so much compared to the old tvs. some shows even look bad on the old format because those shows are native in hd. clone was for example looks awful on my folks crt but in hd it's still a crappy story but like starwars is meant to be,jaw dropping graphics :)


:razz: Again, I don't give a shit what a game or show looks like as long as it's fun and I'm entertained. You obviously didn't grow up in the 70's and 80's when you had 4-5 local channels and had to use rabbit ears on your tv to get in those few meager stations.

To me, as long as my tv is a bit better than it was in those days, I'm content.:)

#28 Dr Mario Kart   SD/2D Defense Force CAGiversary!   10953 Posts   Joined 14.8 Years Ago  

Dr Mario Kart

Posted 22 January 2010 - 07:35 AM

Man, I just use whatever is in the box. Right now its crisp composite/rca. If coaxial was the default, I'd probably be using that.

#29 IAmTheCheapestGamer   Banned Banned   28796 Posts   Joined 13.3 Years Ago  

IAmTheCheapestGamer

Posted 22 January 2010 - 11:31 AM

I tried using coax/RF switch on an older tv, rather than move my newer tv down here just to be able to hook it up via the composite cables. However, the screen was very dark on an RF switch and I couldn't see a single piece of text with it.

#30 i4ybrid   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   36 Posts   Joined 10.2 Years Ago  

Posted 22 January 2010 - 12:47 PM

I've played the demo, and while it's not exactly the final version, it is a good indicator of how the game will handle. I've noticed that most of the game ran at around 40 fps, and sometimes even pausing, probably to load something.
The game is anti-aliased and very smooth, so even if the picture is stretched and you are standing near the TV, it's hard to notice it's not running at native resolution since everything is moving. Like everyone has been saying on the forum, it's not totally unexpected, but it would have been a nice-to-have.