Recommend some good turn-based Japanese RPGs

W

wattage

Hello. I'm new to the CAG community and a new Xbox360 owner. I'm looking for games along the lines of Disgaea, Final Fantasy Tactics, and Final Fantasy X from the Playstation world.

What are some good turn-based Japanese RPGs for the Xbox360?

Thanks!

Vandal Hearts on XBLA. There is also Spectral Force 3 and Record of Agarest War but neither are that great

Resonance of Fate isnt a strategy rpg.

[quote name='62t']Vandal Hearts on XBLA. There is also Spectral Force 3 and Record of Agarest War but neither are that great

Resonance of Fate isnt a strategy rpg.[/QUOTE]

What would you call it then?It's not a turn based rpg,and I wouldn't call it a real time rpg.It really is a mix of strategy and real time since you really have to plan your moves out.

Last edited by a moderator:
[quote name='thelonepig']Lost Odyssey. It's straight up traditional turn-based RPG from the makers of Shadow Hearts.[/QUOTE]

This man speaks the truth. Playing through this right now and it's definitely bringing back fond memories of playing through my favorite jrpgs back in the day.

People already mentioned Lost Odyssey which is an excellent choice. It's surprisingly mature for a JRPG and isn't riddled with too many cliches often found in the genre. Probably one of the coolest main characters in any RPG. Combat can seem slow at times (loading especially) but it's has a good balance of difficulty.

Blue Dragon can be summed up as Dragon Quest for 360. It's much more lighthearted than LO. Combat is simple and quick. Graphics are colorful and sports nice soundtrack. Story and characters are it's weakest point. All the main characters are on the young side, not sure if that's your thing or not (I found it annoying) Even so I always thought this game deserves more love than it gets.

Another recommendation for Lost Odyssey. Awesome game.