Married/Engaged CAGs, Looking For Some Advice

strummerbs

CAGiversary!
Yes, I know I will get some flack for posing this question on a cheap video game website, and I admit it's not the ideal place. However, I have a lot of respect for a good portion of the CAG community, and I thought I might get some good ideas or insights (or at the very least, a few laughs).

Anyway, I am planning on proposing to my girlfriend by the end of the summer. She is going into her last year of law school, while I graduated last year and have been practicing for a year. She is attending school in Nashville, TN and spending this summer working for a firm in Chicago, while my current job is in Fort Wayne, Indiana. We've been doing the long distance thing for a year now, and, though it's been annoying, it hasn't negatively affected our relationship. I do think that now is probably the best time to ask, so we can have about a year to plan the wedding during her least stressful year of school, and have the wedding before she starts studying for the bar exam (which basically paralyzes your existence for about 6 weeks).

I've been thinking about the whole process of getting the ring and actually going through with the proposal, and I thought I might ask for advice from those CAGs who have gone through the process before. Should I ask her father first? Should I pick out a ring, or should I ask and then have her pick one out? Any ideas on good proposal locations/methods? Any stories of especially noteworthy proposals, either good or bad?

Yes, ask her father. It's classy, and should go fine unless he really doesn't like you for some reason....other than for being a lawyer... *chuckle*

You could always send her a legal summons and direct her to appear somewhere. Or, it would be awesome to get her on the stand somewhere (not during an actual trial, obviously), and pop the question while reminding her she's under oath. Maybe I watch too many crime dramas.