Which SRPG for a complete newbie to the genre?

ne2eire

CAGiversary!
Feedback
3 (100%)
Is Suikoden Tactics a good SRPG for someone completely new to the genre? I picked it up last week thinking it would be since IGN said it's fairly simple.

I'm also thinking of buying either La Pucelle or Phantom Brave since they're both $20 each locally.

So offer me some recommendations. I don't want to get Disgaea 2, since I never played 1, and I'm anal like that. And I don't want to pay outrageous amounts for Disgaea 1 regardless of how fun it is (just in case I can't get into the game).

Thanks everyone

[quote name='kaw']Pick yourself up a used copy of Final Fantasy Tactics.[/QUOTE]

I don't really want to pay out the ass for this, since it's another hard to find :(

Get FF Tactics since Ogre Battle 64 isn't on PS2 and Dragon Force is an import though if you have a trick to play them I'd suggest that first. It's not full Strategy but might get you into it. Disgaea would be like dropping you head first into a bathtub full of water and the same goes for La Pucelle. Phantom Brave I don't know about. I really think Dragon Force would be anyone's best bet even though it's not full Strategy like mentioned above.

Final Fantasy Tactics is arguably is the best strat RPG of all time. A GH copy shouldnt be too hard to find cheap.

Most people will disagree with me, but I thought Front Mission 4 was a pretty damn good strat rpg, and if you like mechs you'll like it.

I also think that Stella Deus is the best strat rpg currently on the PS2

Dave

Stelle Deus and Suikoden Tactics are both pretty easy. So is Final Fantasy Tactics Advance is pretty approach-able as well.

Being new to the genre you have to be prepared to do a lot of number crunching in general.

NIS games (Disgaea 1 & 2, Makai Kingdom, Phantom Brave) are not very difficult for the story aspect of the game, but the end game sidequestiong is very very deep.