Jump to content


* * * * * 1 votes

The Ultimate 'Build-A-PC' Thread. Complete With Pricings & Recommendations (06/06/10)


#2971 abwly45   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   42 Posts   Joined 14.5 Years Ago  

Posted 08 February 2013 - 01:19 AM

Is this basically the build you would recommend: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/C4wd

If you have any advice on the PSU I would appreciate it. I originally had a Rosewell 650W PSU but it is about 2x as much as the listed one and if it would not make a big difference I would try the Apevia brand.

I believe this may be the build I stick with since it is within the price I want to spend and seems to be able to play the game I originally listed.


I'd do a little more research on the MOBO. You have a Micro ATX listed. So you're getting the small form factor which you don't need with your case listed.

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131872

This is cheaper and gives you same feature set.

For the Vid Card I would spend $10 more and grab this 7870. Its actually running a 7950 GPU with some Stream Proccesors turned down (but more than stock 7870) Plus it has higher memory bandwidth over typical 7870. AMD really should have classified it a 7930.

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814202024

Also I'd either drop the SSD at 60gig or drop the Sound Card and put it into a 128 ssd. 60 gig will get you OS and not much else. 128 will at least allow you to get your top games installed on it as well.

#2972 clonesniper666   Final Fantasy Fanatic CAGiversary!   2671 Posts   Joined 9.9 Years Ago  

clonesniper666

Posted 08 February 2013 - 04:29 AM

I'd do a little more research on the MOBO. You have a Micro ATX listed. So you're getting the small form factor which you don't need with your case listed.

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131872

This is cheaper and gives you same feature set.

For the Vid Card I would spend $10 more and grab this 7870. Its actually running a 7950 GPU with some Stream Proccesors turned down (but more than stock 7870) Plus it has higher memory bandwidth over typical 7870. AMD really should have classified it a 7930.

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814202024

Also I'd either drop the SSD at 60gig or drop the Sound Card and put it into a 128 ssd. 60 gig will get you OS and not much else. 128 will at least allow you to get your top games installed on it as well.


Actually the mobo I have is cheaper at Newegg( where I will probably order from). Here is the list on NewEgg. i will witch the video cards out since you say the sapphire is better and is the aame price on NewEgg and may or may not change mobo since I sorta wanna try the micro form factor ones out( never really dealt with them before.

The 60 GB SSd is fine for me since all I really want on it is the OS.

#2973 Dead_Batteries   Voltaic Pile CAGiversary!   1147 Posts   Joined 10.2 Years Ago  

Dead_Batteries

Posted 08 February 2013 - 04:54 AM

I'm following this build from YouTube. Going for a budget gaming build. Thoughts?

Processor: Intel Core i3-3220
Graphics Card: Gigabyte Radeon HD 7850
Motherboard: Asus P8-H77-I
RAM: 8GB Samsung DDR3 1600MHz
Hard Drive: 500GB Western Digital Caviar Blue
Bitfenix Prodigy Case
Power Supply: 430W Corsair CX430
Sony DVD Drive
Windows 7 Home Premium



#2974 abwly45   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   42 Posts   Joined 14.5 Years Ago  

Posted 08 February 2013 - 06:06 AM

Actually the mobo I have is cheaper at Newegg( where I will probably order from). Here is the list on NewEgg. i will witch the video cards out since you say the sapphire is better and is the aame price on NewEgg and may or may not change mobo since I sorta wanna try the micro form factor ones out( never really dealt with them before.

The 60 GB SSd is fine for me since all I really want on it is the OS.


One thing I forgot to point out was your SSD and HD are Sata 6.0gb/s, but the board only has Sata II. Not that it will make a huge difference, SSD boot drive will already make everything feel snappier. but if you want to get the most out of your SSD

#2975 sinned47   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1244 Posts   Joined 12.2 Years Ago  

Posted 08 February 2013 - 10:48 AM

i need some PSU advice.
here is my future build: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/CbZA
i have everything except currently running 1 gtx 670.
I will pick up another one in the future for sli. My i7 is also overclocked to 4.4 GHz.
Right now, I am second guessing my choice on a 850 watt PSU if I want to sli gtx 670s in the future. I am not sure if I am calculating my required supply correctly. The Asus site says I need 1000 watts while Newegg says I only need about 700 to 750 watts. At the same time, Outervision's calculator says I need around 650 watts.
I am worried that I flushed money down the toilet by buying a less than sufficient PSU. Can someone check or advise what my PSU wattage should be?

and does anyone know if i need to register my Maximus V Formula with Asus to get warranty?

#2976 aShufflinZombie   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   722 Posts   Joined 9.1 Years Ago  

aShufflinZombie

Posted 08 February 2013 - 11:06 AM

Is this basically the build you would recommend: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/C4wd

If you have any advice on the PSU I would appreciate it. I originally had a Rosewell 650W PSU but it is about 2x as much as the listed one and if it would not make a big difference I would try the Apevia brand.

I believe this may be the build I stick with since it is within the price I want to spend and seems to be able to play the game I originally listed.


I know this is nitpicking but dvd drives are available for $16 (at microcenter)about 99% of the time. Also why the H212+ instead of the Evo?

#2977 elessar123  

Posted 08 February 2013 - 06:45 PM

i need some PSU advice.
here is my future build: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/CbZA
i have everything except currently running 1 gtx 670.
I will pick up another one in the future for sli. My i7 is also overclocked to 4.4 GHz.
Right now, I am second guessing my choice on a 850 watt PSU if I want to sli gtx 670s in the future. I am not sure if I am calculating my required supply correctly. The Asus site says I need 1000 watts while Newegg says I only need about 700 to 750 watts. At the same time, Outervision's calculator says I need around 650 watts.
I am worried that I flushed money down the toilet by buying a less than sufficient PSU. Can someone check or advise what my PSU wattage should be?

and does anyone know if i need to register my Maximus V Formula with Asus to get warranty?


When I did research on it, an i5 stock with 670s SLI needed at minimum 750W. You probably need at least 800W, probably safe at 850W. Someone with more OC experience than me could tell you more, I'm sure.

#2978 abwly45   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   42 Posts   Joined 14.5 Years Ago  

Posted 09 February 2013 - 06:09 AM

i need some PSU advice.
here is my future build: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/CbZA
i have everything except currently running 1 gtx 670.
I will pick up another one in the future for sli. My i7 is also overclocked to 4.4 GHz.
Right now, I am second guessing my choice on a 850 watt PSU if I want to sli gtx 670s in the future. I am not sure if I am calculating my required supply correctly. The Asus site says I need 1000 watts while Newegg says I only need about 700 to 750 watts. At the same time, Outervision's calculator says I need around 650 watts.
I am worried that I flushed money down the toilet by buying a less than sufficient PSU. Can someone check or advise what my PSU wattage should be?

and does anyone know if i need to register my Maximus V Formula with Asus to get warranty?



670's are fairly power efficient. Here's a review with SLI showing power consumption at load. They said 850w would be the starting point for tri SLI.

http://www.guru3d.co...i_review,4.html

Your PSU listed should be good.

#2979 Mako1215   Mr.OneOfWonder Banned   7273 Posts   Joined 13.9 Years Ago  

Posted 13 February 2013 - 07:16 AM

i need some PSU advice.
here is my future build: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/CbZA
i have everything except currently running 1 gtx 670.
I will pick up another one in the future for sli. My i7 is also overclocked to 4.4 GHz.
Right now, I am second guessing my choice on a 850 watt PSU if I want to sli gtx 670s in the future. I am not sure if I am calculating my required supply correctly. The Asus site says I need 1000 watts while Newegg says I only need about 700 to 750 watts. At the same time, Outervision's calculator says I need around 650 watts.
I am worried that I flushed money down the toilet by buying a less than sufficient PSU. Can someone check or advise what my PSU wattage should be?

and does anyone know if i need to register my Maximus V Formula with Asus to get warranty?


PSU is never something to try and get by on. Just buy a very good 750/850 watt and your good to go.

#2980 Duo_Maxwell   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   5752 Posts   Joined 16.9 Years Ago  

Duo_Maxwell

Posted 15 February 2013 - 05:58 AM

2 part question.

1) Volunteered for the "building a rig for a friend" position this week. His graphics card budget is about $150-$170. I told him for that he should probably go for a Radeon HD 7850, he was thinking about getting a GTX 570 from Microcenter I guess. As far as I know they are pretty similar but the 7850 has the newer tech. Any have experience/opinions on these cards?

2) The parents' computer PSU is dying a terribly loud death i think. Literally runs the fan like it's pulling a full load all the time and doesn't ever stop. They have a fairly old HP (like 2008 maybe), but I am probably going to swap out the PSU for a decent Antec I have that is extra. However given that their HP case has god awful airflow, dvd door sometimes sticks, etc. I was thinking about just throwing it all in a new case as I could probably get a decent one for $30-50. Anyone done this before? worth it? It looks like some of the headers for front USB and so forth maybe proprietary which is no fun...

#2981 Mako1215   Mr.OneOfWonder Banned   7273 Posts   Joined 13.9 Years Ago  

Posted 15 February 2013 - 06:01 AM

2. Can any extra fans be added to the case?

#2982 elessar123  

Posted 15 February 2013 - 06:35 AM

2) The parents' computer PSU is dying a terribly loud death i think. Literally runs the fan like it's pulling a full load all the time and doesn't ever stop. They have a fairly old HP (like 2008 maybe), but I am probably going to swap out the PSU for a decent Antec I have that is extra. However given that their HP case has god awful airflow, dvd door sometimes sticks, etc. I was thinking about just throwing it all in a new case as I could probably get a decent one for $30-50. Anyone done this before? worth it? It looks like some of the headers for front USB and so forth maybe proprietary which is no fun...


I don't know if it's worth it. OEM computers from HP etc. usually have stuff you don't expect to find, which makes moving it to a normal case a pain in the ass. You'll probably have to do a lot of little stuff, like replacing the cables to the hard drive, cause they might have mounted the HDD so close to the motherboard that the cable in use is like an inch long, and stuff of that sort.

Your best bet is to probably clean 5 years of dust out of it, and replace the PSU with something cheap. Any more money than that, and you might as well buy a new one.

#2983 Duo_Maxwell   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   5752 Posts   Joined 16.9 Years Ago  

Duo_Maxwell

Posted 17 February 2013 - 01:37 AM

2. Can any extra fans be added to the case?


To the HP case? No I don't think so. There is a side vent that I could maybe mod and put a fan on, but nothing made for it. I cleaned it out then muddled around doing some testing and it seems like all the components and everything in the case stays relatively cool. But for some reason, even right after a cold boot up the PSU sounds like a helicopter is getting ready to take off from their office.

I don't know if it's worth it. OEM computers from HP etc. usually have stuff you don't expect to find, which makes moving it to a normal case a pain in the ass. You'll probably have to do a lot of little stuff, like replacing the cables to the hard drive, cause they might have mounted the HDD so close to the motherboard that the cable in use is like an inch long, and stuff of that sort.

Your best bet is to probably clean 5 years of dust out of it, and replace the PSU with something cheap. Any more money than that, and you might as well buy a new one.


Yeah that seems to be the case as the front usb/firewire/audio etc appear to have a connector that's exclusive to the HP case & mobo. Memory card reader is also not a typcial 5.25 bay. I've thought about telling them to just get a new one, but I don't think they are yet savvy enough for Windows 8... I'll just throw the extra Antec PSU I have in there and wait for something else to go bad in it, replace the whole PC and reclaim my Antec PSU then. I'm fairly certain the Antec will outlast the HP computer at this point.


Edit: Anyone have any opinions on question 1? A 1gb GTX 570 vs. a 1gb Radeon HD 7850 (neither is overclocked I don't think)?

#2984 dmlopr   Get off my lawn CAGiversary!   79 Posts   Joined 12.2 Years Ago  

Posted 26 February 2013 - 05:34 AM

I game about 20 hours a week but I also do a lot of work with Excel and Access. I'll play on and off a few different games; Skyrim, Civ V, Torchlight II and Starcraft II among a few others.

I'm about 90% done putting my new rig together. i7 3770k + 2 EVGA 670 FTW 2G SLI

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/F9Fy

This machine replaces a three year old i5 2.66 Ghz with an HSI 5770 card that has served me pretty well.

The Corsair 650D case is larger (taller) than I expected but pretty sweet.

Almost ready to install Windows 7..maybe tomorrow after work. I don't think is is as much fun to do as when I was younger. I'm still in possession of a Packard Bell 486 33 that still works :).

Posted Image

Edited by dmlopr, 26 February 2013 - 06:44 AM.
Gramma


#2985 iKilledChewbacca   Trading Time Out (Under Investigation) Do not trade! Trading Timeout - Under Review   3946 Posts   Joined 11.8 Years Ago  

iKilledChewbacca

Posted 05 March 2013 - 05:36 AM

Thats a very nice rig ! I cant decide if I want the i5 2500K or the i5 3570k :/

after promo code the 3570k is $5 cheaper on newegg, but I just dont know enough about processors to know the difference. I know the 2500k is sandy bridge and the other is Ivy Bridge but thats about it.

#2986 Mako1215   Mr.OneOfWonder Banned   7273 Posts   Joined 13.9 Years Ago  

Posted 05 March 2013 - 05:58 AM

Thats a very nice rig ! I cant decide if I want the i5 2500K or the i5 3570k :/

after promo code the 3570k is $5 cheaper on newegg, but I just dont know enough about processors to know the difference. I know the 2500k is sandy bridge and the other is Ivy Bridge but thats about it.


4th gen is coming out.

#2987 icedrake523   Good News Everyone! CAGiversary!   3700 Posts   Joined 12.5 Years Ago  

icedrake523

Posted 05 March 2013 - 11:56 PM

I bought a Radeon HD 6850 for my current desktop back in August 2011 when I built it. My friend is building a computer and I asked if he'd be interested in buying it from me. He doesn't game much and mostly needs a computer for Photoshop (and why he needs 16GB of RAM).

What's the best way to figure out the price I should ask? I checked eBay and most are $80 tops. I have the full box with everything that came with it (cut out the UPC for the rebate).

I would probably get a Radeon HD 7850, is the upgrade from the 6850 worth about $100?

#2988 chickenbutt   Nope CAGiversary!   2167 Posts   Joined 11.9 Years Ago  

chickenbutt

Posted 13 March 2013 - 03:19 AM

Can someone help me with my PC?
I just got parts that I ordered a few days ago and they don't seem to go together. After putting it together, the computer turns on but nothing appears on the screen. I have this mobo
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813130662
and this psu
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817153174
After a bit of googling and looking at the manuals, it seems like it's because the GPU in my CPU isn't working. I have the AMD A10 with a Radeon HD 7660D in it and the plug I'm missing is for the APU, so I need to find an adapter. It should be something like this http://i.stack.imgur.com/S4WBe.jpg but I can't seem to find one anywhere.

I'm also thinking of getting a graphics card instead of using the one that's in the CPU. My laptop has a Intel 4000 HD and a GTX 660M and it switches around to save power. Is it possible to do this on a desktop with the HD 7660D and another card?

#2989 abwly45   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   42 Posts   Joined 14.5 Years Ago  

Posted 13 March 2013 - 03:56 AM

Can someone help me with my PC?
I just got parts that I ordered a few days ago and they don't seem to go together. After putting it together, the computer turns on but nothing appears on the screen. I have this mobo
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813130662
and this psu
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817153174
After a bit of googling and looking at the manuals, it seems like it's because the GPU in my CPU isn't working. I have the AMD A10 with a Radeon HD 7660D in it and the plug I'm missing is for the APU, so I need to find an adapter. It should be something like this http://i.stack.imgur.com/S4WBe.jpg but I can't seem to find one anywhere.

I'm also thinking of getting a graphics card instead of using the one that's in the CPU. My laptop has a Intel 4000 HD and a GTX 660M and it switches around to save power. Is it possible to do this on a desktop with the HD 7660D and another card?


You don't need that adapter. Your PSU comes with a 4x4 cpu power adapter. It will be stuck together to look like 8 pins, but it should separate out into 4x4 according the specs on Newegg. Then just plug the correct 4 pin setup into your MOBO. The other 4 pins will just be extra.

Your MOBO only requires a 4 pin CPU adapter.

#2990 chickenbutt   Nope CAGiversary!   2167 Posts   Joined 11.9 Years Ago  

chickenbutt

Posted 13 March 2013 - 04:04 AM

You don't need that adapter. Your PSU comes with a 4x4 cpu power adapter. It will be stuck together to look like 8 pins, but it should separate out into 4x4 according the specs on Newegg. Then just plug the correct 4 pin setup into your MOBO. The other 4 pins will just be extra.

Your MOBO only requires a 4 pin CPU adapter.


Holy crap LOL I just took my time looking for it and found it. Everything was all black and I couldn't see any plugs. It works now. Thanks :D
Would it be a good idea to buy some computer case fans? I don't have any atm. Thinking of getting 2. Nevermind, I just ended up buying 2.

Edited by chickenbutt, 13 March 2013 - 04:26 AM.


#2991 iKilledChewbacca   Trading Time Out (Under Investigation) Do not trade! Trading Timeout - Under Review   3946 Posts   Joined 11.8 Years Ago  

iKilledChewbacca

Posted 13 March 2013 - 04:55 AM

Ello guys, my friend needs some help. I tried doing all the math in my head and also used a PSU calculator but it just doesnt seem right to me (I didnt think his PSU would be powerful enough)....

He has :

Core2Duo e7600 @ 3.06Ghz
4x 2GB DDR2 (totaling 8GB)
Radeon HD 5770
2x 200mm fans
Corsair CX500 power supply (38a on the +12V rail)

He just bought another radeon 5770 off of craigslist for $35 and he wants to try and put it in the system....He is just afraid that it could do damage if his PSU isnt powerful enough.

What are your opinions on this ?

He doesnt overclock anything as far as I know if that helps.

Can he run crossfire with a 500w PSU or is he going to need to buy a bigger one ?

#2992 purplehaze   CAG Veteran CAGiversary!   2 Posts   Joined 9.1 Years Ago  

purplehaze

Posted 13 March 2013 - 03:48 PM

not knocking the op but here are some great sites to help you build a new rig

logicalincrements.com
pcpartpicker.com

#2993 iKilledChewbacca   Trading Time Out (Under Investigation) Do not trade! Trading Timeout - Under Review   3946 Posts   Joined 11.8 Years Ago  

iKilledChewbacca

Posted 14 March 2013 - 03:42 PM

Ello guys, my friend needs some help. I tried doing all the math in my head and also used a PSU calculator but it just doesnt seem right to me (I didnt think his PSU would be powerful enough)....

He has :

Core2Duo e7600 @ 3.06Ghz
4x 2GB DDR2 (totaling 8GB)
Radeon HD 5770
2x 200mm fans
Corsair CX500 power supply (38a on the +12V rail)

He just bought another radeon 5770 off of craigslist for $35 and he wants to try and put it in the system....He is just afraid that it could do damage if his PSU isnt powerful enough.

What are your opinions on this ?

He doesnt overclock anything as far as I know if that helps.

Can he run crossfire with a 500w PSU or is he going to need to buy a bigger one ?




anyone know ?

#2994 Mako1215   Mr.OneOfWonder Banned   7273 Posts   Joined 13.9 Years Ago  

Posted 14 March 2013 - 06:07 PM

I personally would go 600_700

#2995 Pootie Thang   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1267 Posts   Joined 18.0 Years Ago  

Pootie Thang

Posted 16 March 2013 - 05:34 AM

anyone know ?


I have an i7-3770k Overclocked to 4.5Ghz and 16GB Ram with a GTX 670 4GB on a 600 Watt PSU (PC Power & Cooling Silencer Mk III). I think your friends rig would be fine with his current 500w PSU.

#2996 StickyWaffles   Us Kids Know! CAGiversary!   330 Posts   Joined 12.2 Years Ago  

StickyWaffles

Posted 20 March 2013 - 06:59 PM

This isn't building a PC necessarily, but I'm hoping to buy a cheap already built desktop from HP with a Core i5, and add a nice graphics card, such as an AMD Radeon 7850, will I run into problems with motherboard connectivity or cooling issues? I asked, and they said it has a 300W power supply, so I'll need to upgrade that.

http://www.shopping.hp.com/en_US/home-office/-/products/Desktops/HP-Pavilion/C9D25AV;pgid=QT5wGfjcGRlSRpIqjWpHvRV30000QKT4fpVE;sid=X36ZQazaGBgbRf2QXRsxyXTVVaUU6qYB0tXIrzDGVaUU6mqr0kualx9h?HP-Pavilion-p7-1520t-Desktop-PC

Edited by StickyWaffles, 20 March 2013 - 07:45 PM.


#2997 Mako1215   Mr.OneOfWonder Banned   7273 Posts   Joined 13.9 Years Ago  

Posted 21 March 2013 - 12:40 AM

Cooling will be an issue and also case size vs gpu length will be an issue.

#2998 denze   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   156 Posts   Joined 15.4 Years Ago  

Posted 21 March 2013 - 06:02 AM

This isn't building a PC necessarily, but I'm hoping to buy a cheap already built desktop from HP with a Core i5, and add a nice graphics card, such as an AMD Radeon 7850, will I run into problems with motherboard connectivity or cooling issues? I asked, and they said it has a 300W power supply, so I'll need to upgrade that.

http://www.shopping.hp.com/en_US/home-office/-/products/Desktops/HP-Pavilion/C9D25AV;pgid=QT5wGfjcGRlSRpIqjWpHvRV30000QKT4fpVE;sid=X36ZQazaGBgbRf2QXRsxyXTVVaUU6qYB0tXIrzDGVaUU6mqr0kualx9h?HP-Pavilion-p7-1520t-Desktop-PC


No, but your better off buying from avadirect or some company that offers similar services. At least you can upgrade or customize from the get go if you're not comfortable building your own PC.

#2999 CaseyRyback   Your New Nightmare! Super Moderators   24202 Posts   Joined 17.7 Years Ago  

CaseyRyback

Posted 22 March 2013 - 03:23 AM

This isn't building a PC necessarily, but I'm hoping to buy a cheap already built desktop from HP with a Core i5, and add a nice graphics card, such as an AMD Radeon 7850, will I run into problems with motherboard connectivity or cooling issues? I asked, and they said it has a 300W power supply, so I'll need to upgrade that.

http://www.shopping.hp.com/en_US/home-office/-/products/Desktops/HP-Pavilion/C9D25AV;pgid=QT5wGfjcGRlSRpIqjWpHvRV30000QKT4fpVE;sid=X36ZQazaGBgbRf2QXRsxyXTVVaUU6qYB0tXIrzDGVaUU6mqr0kualx9h?HP-Pavilion-p7-1520t-Desktop-PC


For the cost of upgrading that thing, you should just build your own or pay a friend to do it. Microcenter has great deals on CPU/ Motherboard combo's and I am sure your university has a deal on getting a copy on an OS. It would be cheaper and upgrading something like that is going to be as much if not more of a PITA.

Just watch some videos on youtube of people putting stuff together and it should lessen your fear.

#3000 chickenbutt   Nope CAGiversary!   2167 Posts   Joined 11.9 Years Ago  

chickenbutt

Posted 22 March 2013 - 04:43 AM

Does anyone know how to do crossfire? I'm trying to do it with a HD6670 and the HD7660D that came on the A10 Trinity CPU. On the box it says it works, but I can't seem to find the crossfire option on Catalyst Control.