Jump to content


- - - - -

PS3 FAQ's: PSN, Gaming, Hardware, Accessories, Gen. Discussions...etc.


#61 Trakan   The Vengeful One Super Moderators   18111 Posts   Joined 12.4 Years Ago  

Posted 07 April 2008 - 07:41 PM

Anyone know why Heavenly Sword switches to 480p or 720p after the game loads when it's 1080p in the XMB?

#62 Ugamer_X   You can trust me CAGiversary!   7617 Posts   Joined 12.8 Years Ago  

Posted 07 April 2008 - 08:04 PM

Anyone know why Heavenly Sword switches to 480p or 720p after the game loads when it's 1080p in the XMB?


That triple don't upscale. The game's native resolution is 720p.

#63 morbis   CAG Veteran CAG Veteran   34 Posts   Joined 8.9 Years Ago  

Posted 07 April 2008 - 09:28 PM

I think your only option on the horizen is the MGS4 80GB, with BC, DS3 controller, and MGS4.
~S



Thanks for the info

#64 decon   CAGiversary! Excellent! CAGiversary!   842 Posts   Joined 9.7 Years Ago  

Posted 08 April 2008 - 01:13 AM

How do you set games to output from the PS3 to a HDTV in 1080p?

I went into Display Settings and clicked off 720p, 1080i. I could not unclick 480p because it was grayed out. 1080p was clicked.

I was able to get Assassin's Creed to 1080p, but Motorstorm defaulted in 480p.

Thanks

#65 coolz481   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   1599 Posts   Joined 12.5 Years Ago  

Posted 08 April 2008 - 02:21 AM

I used to own Motorstorm and I believe its maximum resolution is 720p. Since you had it unchecked, it defaulted down to 480p. Double-check the back of the box or us.playstation.com to be sure.
\\:D/

#66 mtxbass1   This space for rent. CAGiversary!   11092 Posts   Joined 12.8 Years Ago  

Posted 08 April 2008 - 11:23 AM

Games cannot be "forced" into 1080p. There are numerous titles that do not display higher than what is stated on the back of the box.



#67 decon   CAGiversary! Excellent! CAGiversary!   842 Posts   Joined 9.7 Years Ago  

Posted 08 April 2008 - 12:24 PM

Any idea why I can't uncheck 480p?

#68 snowsquirrel   solid squirrel CAGiversary!   1317 Posts   Joined 10.1 Years Ago  

snowsquirrel

Posted 08 April 2008 - 12:33 PM

probably a safety net. every tv supports 480, and every game supports 480.
~S
* Need a notebook for your project? www.projectnotebookr.com: tasks, notes, timelines, etc.
* The Blog of an Educated Squirrel: comments on gaming, technology, and other general nerdery.

#69 Mana Knight   Chrom CAGiversary!   14401 Posts   Joined 12.2 Years Ago  

Mana Knight

Posted 09 April 2008 - 12:25 PM

probably a safety net. every tv supports 480, and every game supports 480.
~S

That's the reason. The problem is the ONLY HD resolution MotorStorm, Resistance, and some other games support is 720p. You cannot ever get MotorStorm to display in 1080i.
Posted Image

#70 NamPaehc   !Anihc Ni Hsan CAGiversary!   4964 Posts   Joined 10.0 Years Ago  

Posted 09 April 2008 - 03:40 PM

Mostly that was for the earlier games right? I'm pretty sure they've changed things so that you can upscale regardless of what the developer set the game to default display in.

2ic4l5j.jpg


#71 snowsquirrel   solid squirrel CAGiversary!   1317 Posts   Joined 10.1 Years Ago  

snowsquirrel

Posted 09 April 2008 - 03:59 PM

It is game dependent. If a game says 720p only, that means 480p, and 720p. If your TV can scale 720p to 1080p, fine. But the PS3 does not do scaling like the 360, so it can only display what developer explicitly supported. The developer can do scaling, if they like, but if they don't, the PS3 can't do that for them.
* Need a notebook for your project? www.projectnotebookr.com: tasks, notes, timelines, etc.
* The Blog of an Educated Squirrel: comments on gaming, technology, and other general nerdery.

#72 Mana Knight   Chrom CAGiversary!   14401 Posts   Joined 12.2 Years Ago  

Mana Knight

Posted 09 April 2008 - 04:23 PM

Mostly that was for the earlier games right? I'm pretty sure they've changed things so that you can upscale regardless of what the developer set the game to default display in.

Nope, there are still games that are 720p only. Devil May Cry 4 is one of them. Burnout Paradise is that way too but receiving an update to support 1080i. The situation is the PS3 has a hardware scaler, but in order to enable it, it does suck up some memory. And due to the PS3 having kind of limited memory (most devs don't try streaming PS3 memory like they should), it gets left out.
Posted Image

#73 mguiddy   'nives 'n 'nades CAGiversary!   7100 Posts   Joined 9.1 Years Ago  

Posted 09 April 2008 - 04:59 PM

So, what's the difference between this and the PS3 101 thread? I always used that as the general PS3 question thread? Or do we have two PS3 101 threads now?

#74 NamelessMC   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   539 Posts   Joined 9.8 Years Ago  

NamelessMC

Posted 10 April 2008 - 08:13 AM

I have Uncharted, Resistance, Warhawk, Heavenly Sword, Folklore and don't really care for much else.

I'm trying to trade for Ratchet & Clank here, but that's really the only game left.

GTA4 is coming out soon. Aside from that, what can I really buy?

GT5 Prologue is a big maybe. But I don't feel too comfortable paying $40 for a demo. I know it's a very extensive demo, but seriously the car line-up is comparable to Need for Speed on PS1.

I figure, I have a PS3, a beautiful Samsung LCD, a surround sound. I should stock up on Blurays and supplies and hide in a bunker until MGS4 comes out?
Posted Image

#75 Vanigan   V.V.V.V.V. CAGiversary!   1171 Posts   Joined 10.2 Years Ago  

Posted 10 April 2008 - 08:54 AM

Haze comes out May 20th, Dark Sector is a decent game. If you have friends over often, try Rock Band.

Don't think just in terms of exclusives because of a lot of the later multiplatform titles work just fine on the PS3.

From EB games it looks like Brothers in Arms may or may not come out on June 3rd.

By then there should also be some new stuff on the new PSN store.

#76 Maklershed   Feed me a stray cat CAGiversary!   34088 Posts   Joined 11.3 Years Ago  

Posted 10 April 2008 - 11:26 AM

I guess. If there are movies you want to watch that are in blu-ray format.

 


#77 smiggity   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   3585 Posts   Joined 8.8 Years Ago  

Posted 10 April 2008 - 05:31 PM

I suggest going crazy on PSN games until then..
"Like Normal People"
Virtual trophies are for those who have nothing they excel at in reality.

Posted Image
"Confrontation is the one among many of its kind that will only be used by the elite players and clans. All others who only want to play for a few hours and dream of a new generation of experience, should choose another game"-Eurogamer

#78 Hockey37   Hockey Player/Coach CAG CAGiversary!   594 Posts   Joined 9.8 Years Ago  

Posted 10 April 2008 - 05:51 PM

I suggest going crazy on PSN games until then..


This.
Posted Image

#79 lbradeen   CAGiversary! CAGiversary!   293 Posts   Joined 9.7 Years Ago  

Posted 10 April 2008 - 08:38 PM

Grab the demo of Pixel Junk Monsters. if you like it then you've got a great new game, if not then you wasted a couple minutes.

#80 Snake2715   Gotta Have Your Toys... CAGiversary!   8511 Posts   Joined 12.8 Years Ago  

Posted 10 April 2008 - 08:52 PM

Also is Orange Box not an option for you? Like boxing games Fight Night Round 3 is good.
-Josh

Posted Image
-courtesy of onetrackmind-

TRADE LIST

#81 cleaver   You have 0 friends CAGiversary!   3182 Posts   Joined 12.4 Years Ago  

Posted 10 April 2008 - 08:57 PM

Call of Duty 4 and Oblivion are the best PS3 games by a mile, IMO.
The trade list is long, but distinguished.
http://theskinnypost.blogspot.com
Posted Image
This would be a fine death... if I hadn't run out of tokens.

#82 wesdw369   Pirate King CAGiversary!   850 Posts   Joined 10.7 Years Ago  

Posted 10 April 2008 - 09:49 PM

I own a ps3, xbox360, and a wii, and im wondering what ps3 games i should get, i have warhawk, resistance, untold legends, motorstorm, and folklore,i plan to get unreal and mgs4. i mainly buy non exclusives for the 360. what good ps3 games should i try or get?

#83 TheCochese   <- doesn't care what you think CAGiversary!   13837 Posts   Joined 12.1 Years Ago  

Posted 11 April 2008 - 03:46 AM

This thread needs more love.

Anyone build their own?

Achievement and trophy hunters? GTFO.


#84 addicted2games   游戏玩家为生活 !! CAGiversary!   3392 Posts   Joined 12.2 Years Ago  

addicted2games

Posted 11 April 2008 - 04:02 AM

I just use a USB port on my PC to charge my controllers. Works well IMO.


Just do this as you surf on CAG.

#85 Thomas96   I am Thomaticus! CAGiversary!   5989 Posts   Joined 12.2 Years Ago  

Thomas96

Posted 11 April 2008 - 04:56 AM

I my controller stand that I bought for 29 at GS. has two controller stand slots and two usb ports which can charge extra controllers or bluetooth mics.

you can see it here, or under the spoiler.


Spoiler

Posted Image

#86 Rei no Otaku   Rei's love CAGiversary!   10309 Posts   Joined 12.6 Years Ago  

Rei no Otaku

Posted 11 April 2008 - 06:01 AM

I my controller stand that I bought for 29 at GS. has two controller stand slots and two usb ports which can charge extra controllers or bluetooth mics.

you can see it here, or under the spoiler.


Spoiler

I was thinking of picking that one up. It plugs into the wall right?

Rei_no_Otaku.png


#87 Maklershed   Feed me a stray cat CAGiversary!   34088 Posts   Joined 11.3 Years Ago  

Posted 11 April 2008 - 11:45 AM

4/15/08

 


#88 Thomas96   I am Thomaticus! CAGiversary!   5989 Posts   Joined 12.2 Years Ago  

Thomas96

Posted 11 April 2008 - 01:28 PM

I was thinking of picking that one up. It plugs into the wall right?



yes, it plugs into the wall.

It turns red, while charging and green when completed.
Posted Image

#89 Starky27   RPG Hoarder CAGiversary!   900 Posts   Joined 12.8 Years Ago  

Posted 11 April 2008 - 01:49 PM

I just use a USB port on my PC to charge my controllers. Works well IMO.

I use either that or my laptop (since it's always in the living room anyway). It's nice that the USB cable for the PS3 doubles as my PSP cable as well.
Harder. Better. Faster. Stronger.

#90 snowsquirrel   solid squirrel CAGiversary!   1317 Posts   Joined 10.1 Years Ago  

snowsquirrel

Posted 11 April 2008 - 02:18 PM

I use a pc or motorola phone charger (razr). You can buy ac->mini-usb chargers everywhere now. I rarely have two controllers than need charging at once. And I don't charge them, until I get the warning.
~S
* Need a notebook for your project? www.projectnotebookr.com: tasks, notes, timelines, etc.
* The Blog of an Educated Squirrel: comments on gaming, technology, and other general nerdery.